Pilot Hi-Tec-C Grip (0.5mm)

24 Mar

Many people consider the Pilot Hi-Tec-C to be one of the best (or in many cases THE best) pens on the market today.  Online reviewers rave about the pen and they quickly sell out at my local shop.  But what makes this simple writing tool so special?

First of all, the ink is fantastic.  I forgot to mention in my written review that it dries almost instantly and does not bleed through any paper I have tested it on.  The black is dark-as-night and flows onto the page with buttery-smooth ease.  The barrel of the pen, while simple, looks quite nice to me and makes me feel like some kind of Japanese scientist.  This version has a hard-rubber grip akin to the Pilot G-2 and allows me to write comfortably through the longest of marathon note-taking sessions.  The cap snaps securely onto the front and back of the pen with a very satisfying *CLICK*, whereas many similar pens have caps that sit precariously on the end and fly off when I nervously spin the thing while I think (or worse, take an exam).

Simple but effective

The inking system is what really sets the Hi-Tec-C apart.  The needle tip is extremely precise: lays a consistant and skip-free line very smoothly, but not so smooth that it eliminates feedback (*cough* fat ballpoints *cough*).  I have heard about people bending the tips but I have thankfully never run into this problem, nor have I met anybody in person who has complained about this phenomenon.  My guess is that some people are just pushing way too hard when they write.  Sometimes the ball does need to be primed a little to get the ink flowing but the 0.5mm tip eliminates this problem entirely.

Destructive paper-wasting menace of a tip

So, does the Hi-Tec-C live up to its immense reputation?  Yes, without a doubt.  I own this pen in many sizes, barrel variations, and ink colors which I will definitely review in the future.  The only drawback to the Hi-Tec series is the pen’s disappearing ink supply which goes so fast that it baffles the mind, and the refills are hard to come by.  Here in the USA, however, the same pen (grip-less version) is sold as the ‘G-Tec-C’ and these can be a little easier to find if you aren’t looking for colors besides the standard blue, black, or red.

Great pen, and the standard which many other pens are judged.

2 Responses to “Pilot Hi-Tec-C Grip (0.5mm)”

  1. David Grant March 25, 2012 at 7:21 PM #

    Where can buy refills for this pen online?

    • dagttv March 25, 2012 at 7:44 PM #

      jetpens.com carries a huge selection of Hi-Tec refills. If you are lucky enough to live near a japanese bookstore like I do, you can usually find them there too.

Leave a Reply

